Vision Statement

The Industry Advisory Board of Montana Tech will actively advise and participate with the Mining Engineering Department resulting in sustained recognition of Montana Tech as the world’s leader for providing talented and versatile mining engineering graduates. 

Mission Statement

The Industry Advisory Board will assure that Montana Tech’s Mining Engineering Department continues to remain one of the world’s leading institutions providing competent and versatile graduates to the mining and mineral extraction industries.

The Board will provide timely and pertinent information regarding mining industry issues in order to enhance the recruitment and education of students and assure that graduates will have received a quality and value added education focusing on safely extracting resources by the most economic and environmentally acceptable methods.  Providing superior graduates for the mining industry assures that employers may continue to provide superior financial returns for their stakeholders while ensuring the world’s mineral and energy security.

In addition to the Mining Engineering Faculty, the advisory board is made up from the following industry members, many of whom are Tech alumni. (alumni are indicated with *)

Robert D. Archibald, P.E.

*B.S. Mining 1977

Managing Partner
Q4 Impact Group

Adrian Berghorst

Setment Development Manager — Ground Support

Bryan Farbridge

*B.S. Mining

Project Manager – Hollister & Midas Mines
Hecla Nevada

Mike Harvie

Manager of Engineering and Geology
Montana Resources, LLP

Deb Keeland, P.E.

*M.S. Mining 2001

Master Black Belt
Continuous Improvement
Granite Construction Incorporated

Greg LeClaire

*B.S. Mining 1981

Angie Okray

*B.S. Mining

Executive Director
Wyoming Miners Hospital Board

Rob Piippo, P.E.

*B.S. Mining 2005

Director of Sales
Stewart Lubricants & Service Co, Inc.

William Rogers

*B.S. Mining 1973

Mining Consultant

Ben Scholz, P.E.

*B.S. Mining December 1994

Newmont Goldcorp
Chief Engineer – CCV Underground Project

Chuck Stevens

*B.S. Mining 1980

Sterling Gold Mining Corporation
General Manager

Matt Young

*B.S. Mining 2001

Business Development Manager
Kiewit Mining Group, Inc.

Doug Bayer

*B.S. Mining 1992
Chief Mining Engineer

Hecla Mining Company

Phillip S Brumit, Sr.

*B.S. Mining 1984
*M.S. Mining 1986

GB Mining, LLC

Jami Dwyer, P.E.

*B.S. Mining 1992
*B.S. Applied Computer Science 1992

Barr Engineering
Elko, NV

Clark Fritz

*B.S. Mining 1985

Mark J. Johnson, P.E.

*B.S. Mining 1981

Freeport Indonesia President and Chief Operating Officer
Tembagapura, Papua, Indonesia

Ken Kluksdahl

*B.S. Mining 1979


Clint Mortensen

Chief Underground Mine Engineer
Barrick — Golden Sunlight Mine

Jason Palin

*B.S. Mining 1995

Vice President/General Manager- East Boulder Mine

Ben Roberds

*B.S. Mining, December 2002

Project Manager
J.S. Redpath Corporation

Robert Roos

*B.S. Mining 2000

Lyman-Richey Sand & Gravel Company
General Manager

Sam J. Shoemaker Jr.

, SME Reg’d Member., Q.P. 
*B.S. Mining

Project Manager 
John T. Boyd Company

Jonathon Torpy

*B.S. Mining 1999

General Manager and President
Epiroc USA LLC