Data Science

Data Science

female and male students at computers with professor

Montana Tech offers the only standalone Bachelor of Science in Data Science and Data Science Certificate in Montana.

This exciting new program aims to meet the demands of the growing job market, which International Data Corporation predicts will require roughly 180,000 professionals with data science skills and nearly one million professionals with data management and data interpretation skills in the U.S. by 2018.

Students graduating with a degree in Data Science from Montana Tech will have excellent job opportunities in high paying jobs such as:

  • Data Scientists
  • Statisticians
  • Business Analytic Professionals
  • Data Warehouse Professionals
  • Database Administrators
  • Software Developers

The median salary for a well-trained data scientist according to a Glassdoor survey is around $113,000; the average salary for a software developer is $85,000 and the median salary for a programmer is $65,000.

Bachelor of Science in Data Science

The Bachelor of Science in Data Science degree involves a rigorous curriculum focused on computer training with statistical and data-oriented courses that prepare students to master high-demand technological skills.

 
Rick Rossi

Professor, Data Science Program Co-Director
MUS 109
406-496-4356

rrossi@mtech.edu


Jeff Braun

Associate Professor
MUS 208
406-496-4206

jbraun@mtech.edu


Suzan Gazioglu

Professor
406-496-4616

sgazioglu@mtech.edu


Celia Schahczenski

Professor
MUS 102
406-496-4383

cschahczenski@mtech.edu

Michele Van Dyne

Professor, Data Science Program Co-Director
MUS 204B
406-496-4855

mvandyne@mtech.edu


Phillip Curtiss

Assistant Professor
MUS 105
406-496-4807

pcurtiss@mtech.edu


Brian Koontz

Assistant Professor
MUS 102
406-496-4385

bkoontz@mtech.edu


Chip Todd

Professor
MUS 209
406-496-4506

ctodd@mtech.edu