Safety Committee Members at Montana Tech

Environmental Health and Safety

Montana Tech Safety and Health Committee

The Safety & Health Committee is appointed by the Vice-Chancellor of Academic Affairs and Research. According to Administrative Rules of Montana, 4.30.2542-2546, this committee shall:

  • Hold regular meetings as necessary, but meet at least once every four months.
  • Assess potential hazards and communicate suggested hazard control information to the campus.
  • Inform employees of safety committee activities & recommendations.
  • Help motivate employees to create a culture of safety in the workplace.

The Committee shall also assist in:

  • The development of safety rules, policies & procedures.
  • The control of hazards.
  • The periodic evaluation of the safety program.
  • The inspection of the workplace.
  • The development of safety training and awareness topics.

In addition, the Safety & Health Committee shall:

  • Coordinate the establishment of campus procedures and standards pertaining to safety, health and loss control.
  • Transmit pertinent safety and health information to the Director of EH&S and to appropriate administrators as required.

Montana Tech Safety & Health Committee Members

  • Vacant, VCAF
  • Layne Sessions (or representative), Facilities
  • Vacant, Dean of Students
  • Erik Castle, Security
  • Amanda Badovinac, Marketing
  • Vanessa Van Dyk, HR
  • Alan Christensen – I.T.
  • Scott Coguill – Mechanical Engineering
  • Deepa DeSilva – Biology
  • Jackie Timmer – Chief Chemist MBMG
  • Karen Wesenberg – Chemistry
  • Dennis Noel – Highlands College
  • Nikole Kelly – Nursing
  • Scott Rosenthal – Mining
  • Marissa Morgan, EHS
  • Vacant, Student Life
  • ASMT President or representative

Safety Committee Minutes