Montana Tech Names Student Employee of the Year


brown.jpgMontana Technological University Chancellor Les Cook announced today the recipient of the Student Employee of the Year award. This year 13 students were nominated for their outstanding contributions and achievements to the university. After a thorough review of the nominations, the selection committee chose Dakota Brown, a Help Desk Associate for Information Technology. In the nomination, Casey Vanatta, Montana Tech Information Systems Analyst and Help Desk Supervisor, stated, “Dakota is constantly exceeding expectations. He has a calm and patient demeanor that is very respectful and understanding. No matter your issue, Dakota will work through it with you and help come to a resolution in a peaceful way. He has been instrumental in helping everyone transition to an online environment as he has provided ideas for us to adopt, tested those ideas, and has provided training on implementation.”

This year’s nominees were Dakota Brown, Dylan Carter, Jayden Chilson, Amanda Cooper, Micah Gregory-Lederer, Reed Harder, Garrett Hopkins, Raven Hrysenko, Katherine Larson, Keelie Lawler, Marshall Metcalf, Catherine Mulholland, and Carly Peach.

The Montana Tech 2020 Student Employee of the Year award nominations were critiqued based upon each nominee’s characteristics in the areas of Reliability, Quality of Work, Initiative, Professionalism, and Uniqueness of Contribution to the employer. Associate Vice Chancellor and Dean of Students Dr. Carrie Vath said, “Montana Tech employees over 430 students on campus and these nominees were all exceptional. I want to extend a thank you to all of the nominators for acknowledging their student employees and the committee for reviewing all submissions. I am so proud of our students and their work ethic.”