Montana Tech Students Receive George Dennison Civic Engagement Scholarship


Catherine Grace Mulholland, scholarship recipientTwo Montana Technological University students are the 2021 recipients of the George Dennison Civic Engagement Scholarship. Montana Campus Compact (MTCC) awarded Environmental Engineering students Laurel Bitterman and Catherine Mulholland as awardees.

The scholarship honors students at MTCC affiliate campuses who have volunteered significant time, energy, and resources – while pursuing a degree or certificate – to projects that make a meaningful difference in others' lives. Half of the funds for each $1,000 scholarship have been donated in memory of George M. Dennison by Jane Dennison and sons, Rick and Robert Dennison, and their families. George Dennison was a tireless champion of service and was the co-founder of the Montana Campus Compact. The winners' institutions match the other half of each scholarship.

MTCC selects at least nine current undergraduate students who have completed a minimum of one year of college or community college at a MTCC affiliate campus.

Laurel Bitterman, scholarship recipientAs a member of the Montana Tech Student Chapter of Engineers Without Borders, Bitterman is the project lead for implementing latrines in a small community in Quebrada Grande, Nicaragua, a years-long project still ongoing. She also volunteers regularly at the Park Street Community Garden and the bi-annual highway cleanup.

Mulholland volunteers her time with the Montana Conservation Corps, the Environmental Engineers of Montana Tech Highway Cleanup, and the Montana Tech Make A Difference Day.