Montana Tech Celebrates National Student Employment Week and Participates in Student Employee of the Year (SEOTY) Program


Montana Tech celebrated National Student Employment week for the third time this year.  On Tuesday, April 10th, Career Services held a Student Employee of the Year (SEOTY) recognition ceremony. The event honored Montana Tech students nominated by their on-campus employers for the distinguished award.  This year’s nominees were Derek Allick, Ashley Bair, Rachel Christiaens, Andrea Cocergine, Brendon Dale, Kimberly Holten, Sarah Hotaling, Laura Jenkins, Kyle Murphy, and Joyce Wilhelm.

The 2012 Montana Tech Student Employee of the Year award was selected based on a letter of recommendation addressing the accomplishments of the nominee in the areas of Reliability, Initiative, Uniqueness of Contribution, Quality of Work, Professionalism and Community and Campus Service. The winner of the Montana Tech SEOTY award also competed in the State level.

The 2012 campus award winner is Kyle Murphy.  He was nominated by his supervisor, David Armstrong, for his excellent contributions in the Mining Engineering Department. Kyle received a campus bookstore gift in addition to a certificate and plaque signed by Chancellor Blackketter and Associate Vice Chancellor Paul Beatty. His name will be listed on the Student Employee of the Year recognition plaque in Career Services.

When nominating Kyle, David shared in his recommendation letter, "Kyle has served a special purpose in the department because he…shows great professionalism and initiative in keeping the equipment serviced and running. He has taken the lead in helping instruct other students in all our underground courses and activities." David also provided examples of Kyle’s reliability and campus involvement.

Montana Tech also celebrated National Student Employment Week with daily drawings all week and an ice cream & cake social for all student employees on Thursday, April 12th in the Student Union Building. For more information about Student Employment at Montana Tech, please visit