Senate members present: James, Solko, Leland, A. Stierle, Todd, Brower, J. Metesh, Melvin, MacLaughlin. Absent: Mitman.

Others in attendance: F. Gilmore, K. Amtmann, Van Daveer, Coe, McIntosh, L. Peterson, Brophy, S. Patton.

The minutes of the September 30, 2003, meeting were noted as being approved and posted in the public folder of the Faculty Senate.

Chairperson Brower explained that an arrangement was created with the Library so that a permanent archive file of Faculty Senate activities and documents will be in place. Access to the file will be restricted and bar-coded for protection of the history and documentation.

Brower noted that in the interests of time, he would report on the Regents' meeting next time.

The meeting opened with a presentation by Dean Coe regarding the transition of the nursing faculty from the South campus to the North campus. He noted that he'd received an e-mail from Courtney Young just prior to the meeting and had not had a chance to read it. He said he would forward it to the Senate members for their information.

It was noted that there will be a need for 1,000,000 new nurses by the year 2010. A table was distributed showing the progression of the nursing program from a certificate LPN program in 1999 to an Associate of Applied Science LPN & Associate of Science RN in 2001 to an Associate of Science RN & Bachelor of Science RN Completion program in 2003. Six of the current nursing faculty were originally hired as COT faculty. The nursing program and its teachers are approved by the Montana Board of Nursing. It is hoped that the National League of Nursing will approve accreditation for Tech's program.

Chancellor Gilmore explained that no formal commitments have yet been made to the faculty of the program for their transition; however, he did note that any commitments would be legally and morally correct. AVC Patton explained that she felt that the two proposals put forth are compatible with the Faculty and Staff Handbook.

A person with a doctorate in a related field must be in place by graduation time of 2006 when the first students complete the current program. As the program currently operates, faculty teaching in the nursing curriculum are assigned to teach courses within their areas of specialization.

A vote was taken. Five members voted in favor of Proposal #1, three voted against it, and one abstained. With such a vote, the Faculty Senate comes out in support of Proposal #1. Further discussion took place suggesting that there may be more options for implementing the transition than just two alternatives presented. A majority vote of the members called for a meeting of the general faculty to consider the situation.

Due to the shortness of the remaining time, deferred business from the previous meeting was once again deferred to the next meeting.

The committee on review of the student teaching evaluation form and process was finalized. The committee is comprised of Dave Carter (HSSIT), Klinton Pfeifle (ASMT -- North campus), Margaret Ziaja (Engin. and IIC), Stephanie Gazzerro (ASMT -- South campus), Susan Patton (AVC -- ex officio), Grant Mitman (CMS), Andrea Stierle (CMS), Mary MacLaughlin (Engin. and IIC), Rod James (Engin.), and Danette Melvin (CMS -- nursing). It seemed that one student at-large would still be a nice addition to the committee. It was hoped that a meeting of the committee could be scheduled and held Tuesday, October 21, at 9:00 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Denise E. Solko Secretary