How To Apply


The Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) was established over 55 years ago to promote the sharing of higher education resources among Western states. One of the programs established is the Western Regional Graduate Program (WRGP). WRGP makes many high quality graduate programs available at reasonable cost to students in 15 Western states. More importantly, it includes a wide range of graduate programs designed around the educational, social, and economic needs of the West.

The following states participate in WICHE/WRGP:

  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
    Northern Marianas Islands
  • Oregon
  • South Dakota
  • Utah
  • Washington
  • Wyoming

Students enrolling through WRGP are eligible to enroll at resident rates of tuition in these 15 states, and are not required to demonstrate financial need.

The following programs are part of the WRGP-WICHE Program at Montana Tech:

  • Metallurgincal/Mineral Processing
  • Technical Communications
  • Geosciences